1. Busking in Heaven
  2. Wonderful
  3. It Doesn't Matter to Me
  4. The Diggers' Song
  5. One in Ten
  6. Medieval Blues
  7. The Guilty Party
  8. Suicide Note
  9. If the Silence Hurts


Dr Ian Mortimer's Comedies, Histories & Tragedies

by Ian Mortimer

2018. CTP001. 9 tracks. Total playing time: 43mins 18secs
Limited edition of 500. £10.00 (free UK postage)

For the last thirty years or so Dr Ian Mortimer has been writing songs for the guitar. Here is a selection of nine of them recorded in 2014, 2017 and 2018 - mostly with his son, Alexander Mortimer. The final track on the album, 'If the Silence Hurts', reached the final of the 2014 UK Songwriting competition (for its lyrics).

Listen on:

The CD is a limited edition of 500 copies, produced by Cross Tree Press. Via this website you can buy copies for £10.00, with free inland (UK) postage. Postage to Europe is £3.95; USA & Canada £5.00; Australia & New Zealand £5.30. Email to arrange overseas delivery (Paypal preferred).

The songs themselves are mostly upbeat and funny. At least, they're meant to be funny, even the one entitled 'Suicide Note'. The best-known original song here is 'The Guilty Party', which Ian and Alexander have played twice on BBC Radio Devon. 'It Doesn't Matter to Me' was on the Hawk and Hares compilation of original Dartmoor music: here is a remixed version. The only song not by Ian is 'The Diggers' Song', which was written by Gerrard Winstanley (1609-1676), leader of the revolutionary movement, The Diggers, before 1649. That one isn't funny. Seventeenth-century social revolutionaries weren't known for their sense of humour.